The Bard Lectureship

Philip Bard (1898-1977), joined the faculty as professor of physiology in 1933. In the course of his 31-year career at Hopkins, Dr. Bard went on to lead his department, serve for four years as dean of the School of Medicine, and win countless honors and awards in recognition of his important research in neurophysiology.

Dr. Bard was a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society (of which he served as president), and – though he was not a physician – The Association of American Physicians. He was editor of Physiology in Modern Medicine through four editions and was awarded many honorary degrees, including one from Johns Hopkins in 1968. Dr. Bard, a beloved teacher, retired as head of his department in 1964.

In 1978 the friends, colleagues, and family of Philip Bard donated funds to The Johns Hopkins University to endow a lectureship to be known as the Philip Bard Lectureship in Medical Physiology

According to the terms of this endowment, the income from the fund is to be used to defray the expenses of annual lectures in Physiology, particularly as related to Medical Science.

Previous lecturers have included:

  • 1987 – Per Andersen, University of Oslo
  • 1988 – Edward G. Jones, University of California, Irvine
  • 1989 – Elwood Henneman, Harvard Medical School
  • 1990 – Horace Barlow, Craik Laboratory, Cambridge University
  • 1991 – Laurence R. Young, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 1992 – Semir Zeki, University College London
  • 2005 – Roderick Mackinnon,  Rockefeller University and HHMI (2003 Nobel Prize in Chemistry)
  • 2007 – Anjana Rao, Harvard Medical School
  • 2008 – Harvey F. Lodish, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
  • 2009 – Bertil Hille, University of Washington
  • 2010 – William A. Catterall, University of Washington
  • 2011 – Susan S. Taylor, University of California, San Diego
  • 2012 – Joseph L. Goldstein, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (1985 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine)
  • 2013 – Joan S. Brugge, Harvard Medical School
  • 2014 – Richard Tsien, NYU Neuroscience Institute
  • 2015 – Nora D. Volkow, National Institute on Drug Abuse, National Institutes of Health
  • 2016 – Robert J. Beall, Former President and CEO, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
  • 2017 – Susan Amara, National Institute of Mental Health, National Institutes of Health
  • 2018 – Ardem Patapoutian, Scripps Research and HHMI (2021 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine)
  • 2019 – Robert H. Edwards, University of California, San Francisco
  • 2021 – Nieng Yan, Princeton University
  • 2022 – Helen Hobbs, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • 2023 – Robert Tampé, Goethe University